skip navigation

Intergovernmental Cooperation in Public Works

This page provides examples of intergovernmental cooperation in public works by local governments in Washington State. It is part of MRSC's series on Public Works Contracts and Intergovernmental Cooperation.

New legislation: Effective July 28, 2019, SSB 5670 authorizes fire protection districts to maintain or repair any vehicle or equipment owned or used exclusively by counties, cities, towns, school districts, or other political subdivisions via interlocal agreement.

Interlocal Agreements Posted Online

Joint Utility Services Authority

Laws of 2011, ch. 258, RCW 39.106, created a new type of intergovernmental municipal corporation to improve the ability of local government utilities to plan, finance, construct, acquire, maintain, operate, and provide facilities and utility services to the public, and to reduce costs and improve the benefits, efficiency, and quality of utility services.

Agreements forming an authority must be filed with the Washington State secretary of state, which will provide a certificate of filing. An authority shall be deemed to have been formed as of the date of that filing. For articles and existing authorities see MRSC's page on Interlocal Cooperation.

Consolidation of Services

Sharing of Services, Equipment, Supplies

  • Bothell and Woodinville Interlocal Agreement for Shared Use of Road Maintenance Materials (Deicer Liquid)
  • Lewis County/Lewis County Cemetery District No. 1 Public Works Master Interlocal Agreement (2013) – County performs various public works services for cemetery district for five years, not to exceed $20,000 per agreement or $50,000 annually.
  • Kenmore and Lake Forest Park Interlocal Agreement for Public Works Administration (2000)
  • Pend Oreille County/Pend Oreille Cemetery District No. 1 Public Works Bid Development Agreement (2016) – Interlocal agreement for county to assist with development of project scope/formal bid document for cemetery district paving project. County will also assist with bid advertisement and provide technical assistance and field inspection during performance of work.
  • MRSC Rosters - A shared state-wide small public works and consultant roster database for Washington State local governments.

Building Permit Services

  • - is a collaborative effort between the cities of Bellevue, Bothell, Issaquah, Kenmore, Kirkland, Mercer Island, Snoqualmie, and Woodinville to provide a unified approach to building processes and services.


  • Douglas County Storm Water Utility - Utility between Douglas County and East Wenatchee
  • Yakima Regional Stormwater Management Program - Yakima County, as the Regional Stormwater Lead, is tasked by an interlocal agreement to perform permit compliance tasks under the Department of Ecology’s Phase II NPDES Stormwater Permit for the cities of Yakima, Sunnyside, and Union Gap, and for urban Yakima County.

Utility Permitting

  • Edmonds Utilities Consortium (EUC) was formed by the partnership of the City of Edmonds and the utility franchises of Puget Sound Energy, Chambers Cable Company, GTE Northwest Incorporated, Olympic View Water & Sewer District, and Snohomish County Public Utility District No. 1.


Last Modified: July 05, 2019