skip navigation
Share this:

Interlocal Cooperation in Public Works

This page provides examples of interlocal cooperation in public works by local governments in Washington State.

It is part of MRSC's series on Interlocal Cooperation.

Joint Municipal Utility Services Authority

The Joint Municipal Utility Services Act (Ch. 39.106 RCW), passed by the legislature in 2011, created a new type of intergovernmental municipal corporation to improve the ability of local government utilities to plan, finance, operate, and provide facilities and utility services to the public. Under the Act, local governments may enter into joint municipal utility services agreements to form independent municipal corporations to perform any or all of the utility services that their participating members may perform, including water, sewer, stormwater, and flood control services.

Agreements forming an authority must be filed with the Washington state secretary of state which will provide a certificate of filing. An authority is officially formed as of that filing date.

Below are some resources on this topic:

Sharing of Services, Equipment, Supplies

Stormwater Management

Wastewater Treatment

Last Modified: June 05, 2023